2022 ABIA winners announced


On 9 June 2022, the Australian Book Industry Awards were held at the International Convention Centre in Sydney. Hosted by Alinta Chidzey, twenty categories celebrated the achievements of authors and publishers in bringing Australian books to readers. The winners were announced by presenters such as The Wiggles, Wendy Whitely, Michelle Law, Peter Fitzsimons, Adam Spencer, Adam Goodes and Ellie Laing among others. 

The awards are judged by the ABIA Academy, comprising more than 250 publishers, booksellers, agents, media and industry representatives. The 2022 shortlist featured some of the biggest names in the Australian book industry (which publishes more than 7,000 new books annually) and this year’s list is a showcase of high-profile authors and incredible new and emerging talent.

If you were unable to attend on the night, you can watch the full video at ABIA Award 2022 Video on YouTube. 

To keep up to date with all 2023 ABIA news, visit Australian Book Industry Awards website

2022 winners

  • Small Publisher of the Year: University of Queensland Press (UQP)
  • Publisher of the Year: Penguin Random House Australia
  • Bookshop of the Year: Avenue Bookstore Albert Park
  • Book Retailer of the Year: Harry Hartog Bookseller
  • Audiobook of the Year: Devotion by Hannah Kent; narrated by Emily Wheaton (Macmillan Australia Audio, Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • Biography Book of the Year: My Adventurous Life by Dick Smith (Allen & Unwin)
  • Book of the Year for Older Children: The Prison Healer by Lynette Noni (Penguin Random House Australia)
  • Book of the Year for Younger Children: The First Scientists: Deadly Inventions and Innovations from Australia’s First Peoples by Corey Tutt (Hardie Grant Publishing)
  • Picture Book Of The Year (Ages 0-6): Somebody’s Land: Welcome to Our Country by Adam Goodes and Ellie Laing, illustrated by David Hardy (Allen & Unwin)
  • General Fiction Book of the Year: Before You Knew My Name by Jacqueline Bublitz (Allen & Unwin)
  • General Non-Fiction Book of the Year: She’s on the Money by Victoria Devine (Penguin Random House Australia)
  • Illustrated Book of the Year: Everything I Love to Cook by Neil Perry (Murdoch Books)
  • International Book of the Year: The Storyteller by Dave Grohl (Simon & Schuster)
  • Literary Fiction Book of the Year: Love & Virtue by Diana Reid (Ultimo Press)
  • Small Publishers' Adult Book of the Year: Dropbear by Evelyn Araluen (University of Queensland Press)
  • Small Publishers' Children's Book of the Year: The Edge of Thirteen by Nova Weetman (University of Queensland Press)
  • Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year: The Mother Wound by Amani Haydar (Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • Rising Star Award: Emily Hart, Commissioning Editor, Hardie Grant Books
  • Hall of Fame Awards - Lloyd O'Neil Award: Sandy Grant, CEO Hardie Grant
  • Hall of Fame Awards - Pixie O’Harris Award: Libby Hathorn