2023 EPAA winners announced


The winners of the 31st annual Educational Publishing Awards Australia (EPAA) were announced live at an awards ceremony in Melbourne this week. 

Congratulations to all those shortlisted, and especially to those publishing teams who won awards on the night. You can browse the winning and shortlisted titles across all categories.

Publisher of the Year 

Congratulations to Seven Steps to Writing Success and Cambridge University Press, who took home the Primary and Secondary Publisher of the Year awards respectively. Proudly supported by the Copyright Agency, these awards recognise companies who have shown exceptional performance in 2022, and were judged by a panel of industry experts. 

This year judges highlighted that Seven Steps to Writing Success showed ‘strong evidence of their measurable impact and support for teachers’ as they were named Primary Publisher of the Year.


Judges noted that Secondary Publisher of the Year Cambridge University Press ‘demonstrated excellence in educational focus and emerging technologies, diversity and inclusion, sustainability, and support for non-profit’.

Outstanding Award Winners 2023

Each year three Outstanding Award winners are selected from the winners across all categories in their teaching tier. The Outstanding Award winners for 2023 are: 

Outstanding Primary Resource

Title: Kit and Arlo Find a Way: Teaching consent to 8–12 year olds 
Creators: Ingrid Laguna and Vanessa Hamilton
Publisher: ACER Press and Spineless Wonders Audio

Judges said that Kit and Arlo Find a Way ‘is a much needed teaching and learning resource’, and highlighted its importance:

‘This chapter book is a comprehensive educational tool supported by a dedicated resources platform. This resource offers schools an opportunity to have transparent conversations regarding a subject matter that may be challenging to implement in the curriculum.’

Read full judges’ comments here.

Outstanding Secondary Resource

Title: Jacaranda Key Concepts in VCE Business Management 7e
Creators: Matt Richardson, Simon Phelan and Helen Rabenda
Publisher: Jacaranda

Judges said this was a resource that scored highly in all aspects, being ‘engaging, well organised and presented with exceptional consideration of learning design principles’ and added that with this resource:

‘even the most novice teacher would feel supported and confident on their first day of teaching VCE Business Management.’

Read full judges’ comments here.

Outstanding Tertiary Resource

Title: Exploring Management, 1st Asia-Pacific Edition
Creators: Peter Woods, Fatima Junaid, Jess Co and Tui McKeown
Publisher: John Wiley and Sons

Judges found this ‘an innovative learning package linking theory and practice in business management’, saying:

‘Overall, this “text” is the epitome of the online/blended 21st-century learning and teaching that has been promised for so long! ’

Read full judges’ comments here.


The Mike Horsley Award recipient – Susan Murray, Sydney University Press 

Congratulations to 2023 Mike Horsley Award recipient Susan Murray, Publisher at Sydney University Press. Susan demonstrated excellence in dedicated service, admirable values and steadfast leadership and her innovative approach to scholarly publishing has made significant contributions to the sector.

The Mike Horsley Award recognises outstanding service to the Australian Educational Publishing Industry (primary, secondary and tertiary) by an individual from within its ranks. The award honours Educational Publishing Awards founder, the late Professor Mike Horsley.

Congratulations to all those who entered this year’s awards – be proud of your achievements in the last year, and the work you do for Australian education. 

Check out the full list of shortlisted and winning resources on the Educational Publishing website.

We’re grateful to the support of our event sponsors, the Copyright Agency, Media Super, OPUS Group and Ingram Content Group.