Editors selected for REP 2024


REP Logo

Fifteen editors from across Australia have been selected for the APA’s Residential Editorial Program (REP) in 2024.

Taking place in Sydney from 29 April to 2 May 2024, the REP offers an intensive program for mid-career editors to work on an unpublished manuscript with experienced mentors, and hear from a range of guest speakers.

Since being established in 1999, REP has become renowned in Australian publishing as a defining professional development opportunity for editors with over 120 graduates to date. 

The successful candidates were chosen by the APA’s Editorial Working Group from 32 applicants, with a mix of freelance and in-house editors from across New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria and Western Australia. 

Scholarships were offered for First Nations and freelance editors, with the latter provided through IPEd. 

The editors selected for next year's program are:

  • Alisa Ahmed (Ultimo Press)
  • Chrysoula Aiello (Hachette)
  • Tom Bailey-Smith (Allen & Unwin)
  • Armelle Davies (Affirm Press)
  • Melissa-Jane Fogerty (freelance)
  • Shannon Kelly (HarperCollins)
  • Melissa Lane (Penguin Random House)
  • Sophie Mayfield (Ultimo Press)
  • Catherine McInnes (Melbourne University Press)
  • Casey Mulder (freelance)
  • Camha Pham (freelance)
  • Anna Thwaites (freelance)
  • Bianca Valentino (freelance)
  • Kate Whitfield (Allen & Unwin)
  • Joanna Wong (Hardie Grant)

The editors will be mentored by experienced editors Linda Funnell, Malcolm Knox and Grace Lucas-Pennington.

Meredith Curnow, Chair of the Editorial Working Group, said of the selection:

‘The Editorial Working Group is thrilled that another fifteen editors will undertake the Residential Editorial Program in 2024.

They represent publishing houses large and small, freelance and in-house editors, and with support from Creative Australia we have been able to offer scholarships to three First Nation editors.’

Further information on REP and its history can be found here.