The Australian Publishers Association is governed by a Board of Directors, featuring representatives from across the publishing industry.

The board is composed of a number of elected directors, typically joined by the convenors from each of our six sectoral committees. The board meets quarterly, with an AGM held in April each year.


The APA’s sectoral committees represent the broad range of the Australian publishing industry, covering:

  • Children’s publishers
  • Independent publishers
  • Scholarly & Journal publishers
  • Schools & Educational publishers
  • Tertiary & Professional publishers
  • Trade publishers

Each committee consists of representatives from APA member companies, and meet quarterly to share resources and discuss issues specific to their sector.

The expertise provided by these committees informs and guides the APA’s overall work and priorities. Members of committees and working groups also play a key role in developing and delivering key projects.

Further information

View our Constitution for more details on the board and committees governance structure, along with the election of directors and committee members.

If you have any questions about getting involved in our work at this level, get in touch with our office.